A Makeup Haul: Drugstore and High End

Hello everyone.

I’m going to start by stating this: I am a diehard cheapo. I don’t like spending money and it takes me a while to decide I will spend any. Also, I have been feeling sad and low for the past 3 months but somehow managed to keep my head up most of the time all the while passing my exams, even though I had people get out of their way to screw my grades.
So that being said, I had been eying some specific products for a while but I would never buy any, and because of everything stated above I decided that I deserved a little “congratulations present”, so I went on and bought some little things for myself back in the month of May. That’s what I have to show you today.

The first thing I picked up was the Catrice All Matt Plus foundation.

Catrice All Matt Plus FoundationI ran out of my L’Oréal True Match foundation and, as I usually order it online (being pale here is a crime, you either import your shade or you’ll walk around with an orange face), I couldn’t pick it up anytime soon so I decided to pick a foundation from Catrice.
I picked this one up in the shade 010 Light Beige and as a first impression type thing I can say I really like it. I read all sorts of bad reviews on it but I have to say I am actually impressed, the only problem so far is that the shade is a tad bit too pink for my complexion.

I was also looking for a navy eye pencil so I bought the Catrice Velvet Matt Smokey Eyes pencil.

Catrice Velvet Matt Smokey EyesI got this one in the shade 030 Blueny Tunes and, as much as I could gather so far, this is a completely normal eye pencil with a little flat brush on the end. You’re supposed to apply the pencil to your upper eyelid and then smudge it for a smokey eye look. I haven’t tried this one yet, but if the color matches the actual pencil, I love this shade.

Then I found two essence lip liners I didn’t already own, the Essence Lipliner in 05 Soft Berry and in 13 Transparent.

20150720_165737I don’t know if you know this but Essence Lipliners are my favorite ones. They are creamy, long-wearing and such good value for money! I didn’t have these yet and a clear lip liner is basically a must, so I decided to buy them.

Then I walked over to Kiko because I had been eyeing two very specific products by them for the past year or so and everything was 50% off, so why not?
First I got the Radiant Touch Creamy Stick Highlighter in 100 Gold.

Kiko Radiant Touch Creamy Stick HighlighterI don’t really like (or stand) highlighter on my face because I have oily skin and it makes me go “myeeeh, I’m a disco ball” but I have heard wonders about this one and it looks gorgeous, so I decided to give it a try.

I also picked up the Long Lasting Stick Eyeshadow in 06 Golden Brown.

Kiko Long Lasting Stick EyeshadowMany months ago, Youtube was taken by surprise with everyone raving about this product and I must confess I was insanely curious, so I caved in. Also, I own a lot of neutral shadows, but I have nothing like this one – it’s gorgeous. How could I resist?

Lastly, and to completely kill my bank account, I decided to enter MAC. Biggest mistake ever…
Like I mentioned before I was in need of a new foundation and I ended up buying the new (at the time it was new here) Pro Longwear Nourishing Waterproof Foundation in the shade NC15.

MAC Pro Longwear Nourishing Waterproof FoundationThe waterproof and high coverage claims sold it to me here but I was scared it would emphasize my pores and dry patches. I used it only once so far but I think I was right about that…

And finally, the last thing I picked up was one of the MAC lipsticks I have been drooling over: Twig.

MAC Lipstick in TwigI love “my lips but better” type of shades (maybe because I never really was a lipstick gal) and I had been batting my eyelashes to both Twig and Brave. I tried them both on and as Twig is an exact match to the actual shade of my lips, which makes it just perfect in my eyes, I gladly walked out of the store with it in my shopping bag.

This brings today’s post to a close and let me know if you want me to do reviews on any particular products.
Also, now that I’m back, for those who showed me their support, be it through email, Twitter or comments here on the blog, I have to give you a huge thank you. I have an awesome support system already, my boyfriend’s patience for me has no end, my mom is just doing everything she can and my friends are always making sure I’m as OK as I can be, but it’s still nice to know people I haven’t met personally do care. Thank you. 🙂
I hope I made your day a little bit better today with this post and, until next time, have fun.

admin

Leave a Reply

