October 2014 Favorites

Hello everyone!

Another month has gone by and I decided to do a Favorites post like I used to do before because I like to read them. I’m just not sure I’ll be able to keep these up since I’m a creature of habit and tend to use the same products for long periods of time if I like them enough (aka if they’re worth a show in my favorites). But… I digress. Lets start. ๐Ÿ˜›

october's 2014 favorites

I’ve been getting kind of bored with my AVON Ideal Flawless BB Cream lately (a lazy girl solution for foundation) and it now rains sometimes, so I decided to get back to my old, trusty and well-loved L’Orรฉal True Match foundation that doesn’t smudge with water.

l'oreal true match foundation

I’ve done an extensive review on this one here, in case you’re interested on reading that, and I apply any liquid or creamy foundation with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush (you can find a review on it here).

20141106_163659_edited

I’m extremely fussy about my face brushes because a flawless and natural base is essential for me. I’ve tried so many brands and always ended up applying my foundation with my fingers because none of the brushes delivered nearly good enough results for my very high demands. That was until I found this brush about 2 months ago. Ever since then, this is my go-to brush to use with any foundation.

After going back to my True Match I noticed the pores on the top of my cheeks looked huge and my foundation cakey, which had never happened to me before. That was odd. I slapped on some primer, looked at myself in the mirror and guess what? My foundation didn’t change one bit. After much trial and error, I figured out the moisturizer underneath the foundation (it’s aimed at oily skin) was making my skin’s surface super dry and I went back to my old one: the Cien Anti-Wrinkle Day Cream Q10.

cien anti-wrinkle day cream q10

My skin was not dehydrated per say but it’d go a little on the dry side after applying my old moisturizer, this one makes my foundation glide on my skin and sink into it, making it look perfect. Sounds good, huh? Also, my skin feels smoother now. ๐Ÿ˜€ I promise not to stray again anytime soon! ๐Ÿ˜€

Now some bad news: I’ve been losing my eyebrows somehow. D: Just the ends, but still! Eyebrows are important, and mine are falling off! Disaster… So I’ve been using the Eye Brow Stylist by Catrice and I’ve been loving it so far.

catrice eye brow stylist

Look how tiny the pencil is now! When I bought it, it had double that size… This product makes me look like a normal human again by giving me decent eyebrows, so that’s a positive point!

Finally, my last favorite is the Too Faced Smokey Eye eyeshadow palette.

too faced smokey eye palette

I don’t wear eyeshadow on a daily basis (I barely ever do wear eyeshadow, really) because I like the no-makeup makeup look and, on top of that, I’m a lazy bum. When I watched Divergent I loved Beatrice’s eye makeup because it was very natural while still really emphasizing her eyes so I recreated the look the best I could and have been wearing it non stop for almost 2 months now.

This pretty much wraps up this month’s favorites and I may be doing a tutorial on how to do Beatrice’s eye makeup. It depends on the time I have in the near future, college hasn’t been my friend lately with projects and stuff. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
I hope you liked this post and, until next time, have fun!

admin

5 thoughts on “October 2014 Favorites

    • It really is! I spent years doing my foundation with my hands and now that brush is all I want!
      I’ll be sure to check it. I’m planning on doing it too, actually! And on reviewing the stippling brush too. Thank you. ^^
      xoxo

      Like

Leave a Reply

