How to Conceal Extremely Dark Circles

Hello girls!

How are you all?
Some posts ago I mentioned this post coming up in the near future so here it is for those of you who are as unfortunate as me and have pitch black under-eyes that make you look like a freaking vampire. Not cool, girls. Not. Cool. A little peak at how my eyes look like without any concealing done:

20140604_155935-e1402009645426

And here you have the before and after (aka my concealed right dark circle and eye makeup vs. my left eye “au-naturel”):

20140604_155935

And yes, I totally used a picture from another post, but it’s the same routine and this only occurred to me after both eyes were done. Sorry!
A little behind-story: I have been using the Maybelline’s Dream Lumi Touch for months now to conceal my dark circles but the result wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be. About a month ago, I decided to check the Catrice counters for a highlighting concealer pen in the hope I would find one that had a “more on the pinky-ish side” color, as opposed to the Lumi Touch that has more of a yellow-ish undertone. I walked away with the Catrice Retouch Light-Reflecting Concealer pen in the shade 001 Porcelain in my shopping bag, dying to get home and check if it could complement or even be a dupe of the Lumi Touch. I figured out it isn’t a dupe for the Lumi Touch but for the YSL Touch Eclat Radiant Touch! Also, it works wonders if you pair it with the Lumi Touch, which is what I have been doing ever since.

You are going to need:

  • Maybelline’s Dream Lumi Touch in a shade close to your skin or one shade lighter;
  • Catrice’s Retouch Light-Reflecting Concealer in the shade 001 Porcelain, as it is the pinkest of the 3 available shades.

Now, how do you get the actual thing done?

darkcircleroutine

  1. Moisturize your whole under-eye area and apply the Catrice concealer there.
  2. Blend it out with your fingers from the inner corner of your eye to the outer corner, covering the whole area.
  3. If your dark circles are really dark, you’ll notice you can still see the darkest part of them. Either step into a shadowy area or tilt your head down a bit to better see that darkest area and apply a bit of the Lumi Touch concealer just on that area. Concentrate the product on the dark area ONLY. You could do this step with the Catrice concealer as well, I sometimes do this step twice, one time with each of the concealers.
  4. Blend it out using your fingers.
  5. Apply a little bit of powder to your whole under-eye to set the concealer and lock it into place and you’re done! I typically use the Catrice All Matte powder for this step because it is so light.
  6. The final result!

Now, don’t be put off from how much concealer you’re applying to one little area, both formulas are light and if you set them properly the makeup won’t crease or look heavy/cakey. For the price and coverage I get from this routine, believe me, it is totally worth it, and considering I have tried a load of products to achieve these results with next to no success at all, this is awesome.
This is all for today’s post, thank you for reading and bye bye!

admin

EDIT: If you’re OK with spending a little more money, the only product I found to have similar results to this was the MAC Pro Longwear concealer. I still find it to be a thicker product than the previous two combined, but you get very similar results with less working on the eye area.

Have you tried this “routine” yourself? Please share your opinion/how much you liked the result!

2 thoughts on “How to Conceal Extremely Dark Circles

Leave a Reply

