I ❤ Drugstore Makeup Tag

Hello everyone!

How are you all? Me, I’m in a specially good mood today! I’m on holiday now and I passed every single one of my exams! Well, all of them but one from a subject I failed due to medically justified absence because hey, I am going through physiotherapy during college hours because I thought it’d be fun to have someone stick their fingers on my trashed ligaments while missing class! In case you’re curious, yeah, totally illegal, no one fails subjects for not going to class, much less when your absence is justified by a doctor. But what can I say, my teacher loves me that much and I’m far too happy to just go and waste my time legally fighting people who are not worth the effort. 😀

skull-pattern-rabbit-backgrounds-39334

After reading Soph‘s take on this tag (she actually brought it back) I decided to do it myself as well, as I really do love drugstore makeup.
I am currently a student (I kind of quit my job) so having no fixed income isn’t so good when it comes to buying high end makeup. Just for that reason alone I like drugstore makeup already but, more than that, I have some drugstore products I wouldn’t trade for ANY high end one. So here you have some of my favorite drugstore makeup products.

1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand overall?
I love different brands for different kinds of makeup products but I would go with Essence on this one. Amazing quality, very low prices.

2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?
Face
– L’Oréal True Match (review here)

l'oreal true match foundation

Light coverage, good staying power and a natural, almost invisible finish. Love it.
Cheeks
– NYX Powder Blush

20140705_154622

They’re pigmented, they’re cheap and there are many colors to choose from. Works for me!
Lips
– Essence Longlasting Lipstick

20140705_154732

This is, by far, the best, most creamy and most comfortable lipstick I ever laid my hands on. It’s pigmented too and believe me when I say I wouldn’t replace it with any high end lipstick I ever tried. The only con here is that there aren’t those many colors to choose from.

3. Least favorite product?
The Catrice Evolution to Revolution Ultra Black Volume mascara.

20140705_154811

It does nothing for me except clumping all of my eyelashes together. Not cool, Catrice. Not cool.

4. What is the best makeup bargain?
The Catrice Camouflage Cream concealer.

20140705_154850

It replaced all of my concealers but the two ones I wear under my eyes and it takes a darn good concealer to replace my Make Up For Ever Full Cover one, guys.

5. What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)
Does Kiko Milano count? Soph counted The Body Shop in! xD Probably my Kiko Milano Color Explosion Multi-tone blush.

20140705_154956

I love it and it looks very natural but it’s a little on the pricey side for drugstore makeup.

6. A drugstore product that is overpriced?
The Maybelline Dream Lumi Touch Highlighting Concealer.

20140705_155048

Yes, it’s quite inexpensive but I hate the way the pen was made. When you look at it, it looks like you’re getting the whole pen filled up with product but when you start using it and twisting its bottom, you realize that more than half of the pen is actually empty. €10 is far too much money to spend on so little product.

7. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!!

20140705_155136

I recently found the Catrice Retouch Light-Reflecting concealer pen to be a good dupe for the YSL Touche Éclat!
That’s all I’ve got really, the majority of the drugstore products I own I found to be actually better than any high end ones I’ve tried (and I’ve tried quite a load of those).

8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?
Either the L’Oréal Miss Manga mascara or the Rimmel Stay Matte powder. Don’t get me wrong, I love the latter for the winter, but my Catrice All Matt Plus Shine Control powder does a much better job at controlling my oily skin and it does not make my expression lines super visible in the summer.

This is all I have for today, guys!
I hope you had fun reading this, maybe you’ll discover some new products through this post, I don’t know, and if you want to do this tag too just leave it in the comments so I can check it out!
Thank you so much for reading and have fun.

admin

P.S. This post was edited a few months after publishing because my opinion changed on some of my favorite products.

Leave a Reply

